EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) is a very important stage in a child's life as it helps prepare for schools 'readiness' as well as preparing them for their future learning  and successes. Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. 
Children will learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. 
Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These prime areas are the most essential for a child's healthy development and future learning. These areas are:
  • Communication and language; 
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy; 
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and 
  • Expressive arts and design.

The 7 areas of learning are used to plan children's learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child at John Perryn will make sure that the activities are suited to your child's unique needs. 

Children in EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. It is very important that they develop social skills which help them greatly in the next stages of their learning. The guiding principles that shape our practice in the Early Years are that the children are born ready, able and eager to learn. 

Reception Baseline Assessment Information

Did you miss the deadline for our Early Years admissions? We have a small number of places available in our Nursery and Reception classes for September 2021. Email admin@johnperryn.ealing.sch.uk for more information on how to apply or if you have any questions. 
Our EYFS areas recently underwent a brand new refurbishment by Pentagon Play. You can see these wonderful new areas in our photo gallery

EYFS Reception Information

Promotional Videos